Research team of PhD candidates and postdocs

This figure reflects the project architecture of 18 PhD positions and 5 postdoc positions. Vacancies are listed below.


Vacancies are posted on, or contact the RL leader directly.

Research Line 1

Onno van der Heijden

New anode materials for cost-effective hydrogen production

PhD 1.1

Maaike van Ittersum

Cathode materials for selective and stable CO2 conversion

PhD 1.2

Woutje ter Weel

Electrodes for increased lifetime under harsh and realistic conditions

PhD 1.3

Matt Peerlings

Membranes for increased lifetime under harsh and realistic conditions

PhD 1.4

Valerio Gulino

Advanced, Robust Electrodes and Membranes

Postdoc 1.5

Research Line 2

Svenja Bielefeld

Impact of variability on storage technologies

PhD 2.1

Abdallah Nour El Din

Modelling spatially explicit energy market effects

PhD 2.2

Anieke Kranenburg

Multi-level, multi-actor modelling governance and regulation

PhD 2.3

Nynke van Uffelen

Ethically responsible design of a storage system

PhD 2.4

Mahshid Hasankhani

Assessment of field labs and innovation ecosystems

PhD 2.5

Postdoc 2.6

Socio-technical system design

Research Line 3

Naveen Guruprasad

Development of membrane electrode assemblies and AEM cells

PhD 3.1

Sohan Phadke

Development of electrochemical cell for H2/H2O2 production

PhD 3.2

Matteo Miola

Development of high-surface area electrocatalysts for H2O2 production

postdoc 3.3

Research Line 4

Bianca Ligt

Structure/performance relations for Cu-based electrocatalysts for CO2 reduction to ethylene and ethanol

PhD 4.1

Katie Lawrence

Gas diffusion electrodes for electrochemical CO2 reduction

PhD 4.2

Iris Burgers

Development of CO2 capturing electrolyte for combined capture and conversion of CO2

PhD 4.3

Jasper Klomp

Development of an integrated CO2-capture/electrochemical conversion process

PhD 4.4

Ahmed Mohsen Ismail

Reactor configurations for electrochemical CO2 reduction

Postdoc 4.5

Research Line 5

Max Berkers

Electrodes for redox flow batteries

PhD 5.1

David Ochoa Fajardo

Optimization of process control for flow batteries

PhD 5.2

Nadia Boulif

Development of hierarchical ion conductive membranes

PhD 5.3

Kaustub Singh

Electrochemical engineering of flow and current conditions

Postdoc 5.4